What’s the Best Yarn for Crocheting a Sweater?

_MG_2445What’s the best yarn for crocheting a sweater? It’s a great question. The answer is subjective. It depends on what type of sweater you want. If you live in a cold climate, chances are you want medium weight wool yarn. If you live in a warmer region, sweaters are optional decorative attire.

I started making sweaters years ago, but didn’t know which weight to use, so I tried them all. I made sweaters in size 30 thread up to Fisherman’s worsted wool. Along the way, I discovered, what I believe is the best crochet sweater yarn: 3/2.

5

5″ scarf motif

The 3/2 yarn comes in a 10 oz. 800 yd (approx.) cone marketed mainly for weavers, but can be used for knit and crochet. It’s crocheted with a size 0 / 2.55 mm steel hook. It costs about $20 avg. per cone and takes only one (1) cone to make a sweater. In terms of economy and feel, it ranks the highest in my book.

Content or fiber options include acrylic, cotton, perle cotton, rayon, wool and various blends.

Yarn Barn out of Kansas is a great place to buy the 3/2 cones online. http://www.yarnbarn-ks.com/3_2-Perle-Cotton-Cone/productinfo/WY-PER03C-/

Ebay is another place to find 3/2 cones online:  http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=3%2F2+yarn&_sacat=0

I like this yarn best because it feels light and comfortable. It isn’t thick and heavy like worsted weight or even sport weight yarn. It has the stiffness of a medium weight, yet it’s thinner than sock yarn.

Bamboo skeins are soft, but they’re small and the price of material soon exceeds the value. The same is true of animal skeins, but if money is no object, by all means use the angora, mohair, silk, alpaca, wool and cashmere. There is nothing more luxurious.

Now, if you’re making a novelty, summer sweater or a long garment, and you want it lighter/airier, use a 5/2 or even an 8/2. Here are a few examples of various mediums employed in making garments. From thinnest size 30 to thickest worsted weight.

Row 1: Size 30 thread, Size 20 (Eur 8), Size 20 (Eur 8)

Row 2: Size 10 Thread, Size 10 Thread, 5/2 Yarn Cone

Row 3: 5/2, 5/2, 8/2

Row 4: 5/2, 3/2, Worsted Wt.

4 thoughts on “What’s the Best Yarn for Crocheting a Sweater?

  1. I enjoyed reading of your research very much. I ‘bigified” your projects and was impressed with how the finer yarn has turned out. I love that you factored in frugality and value for money in your research. I haven’t done a lot of experimenting with yarns, mainly sticking to the 8plys or DK weights but I am feeling inspired!🙂

  2. I have very limited access to yarns, buying on the net is not always the same as you see the yarns in front of you and can feel them before buying. Nevertheless it is great to read about your research and findings which I am sure will come into practice at least for me. Thanks for sharing. Great works.

  3. Thank you! I’m currently crocheting a top in 3/2 and it IS the perfect weight for me also. I was just researching where to by cones and came across your article. Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

