Filet Crochet Along – Scottish Lion Rampant

Filet Crochet Along – Scottish Lion Rampant

Ann Reillet

Welcome crocheters!  Thank you for joining me in this “Crochet Along” project. Filet is one of my favorite types of crochet. The charts are easy to read and extremely versatile whether in thread or yarn. Typically, filet looks best when it’s crocheted tightly with consistent tension so that each square is the same size.

I charted this in blue, as it is easier on the eyes. It’s copied from a photograph of a vintage coaster set constructed using a needle method of decorated net in the point de toile style. If anyone recognizes the pattern, please let me know so I can credit a source.

In heraldry, a Lion Rampant (attacking lion) is a symbol of strength and nobility. It’s shown in the Coat-of-Arms for many families as well as countries, like Scotland. The decorative border contains checkered flowers and an ancient geometric symbol with various meanings including a compass, a keep or cage as well as protection.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step 1. Decide what you’d like to make & acquire material: http://www.redheart.com/crochet-thread

  • Coaster Set:  US size 40 + thread and #16 (0.5mm) steel hook
  • Square Doily or Tea Cloth: US size 30 and #12 (1.00mm) [I’m using Aunt Lydia’s Size 30 and a Boye #13]
  • Insertion Lace for curtains, tablecloths, napkins, etc. use either size 20 (#10 hook) or 10 thread (#7 hook)
  • Blanket, afghan or throw:  Yarn of choice; sport wt (G aluminum hook / 4mm) or worsted wt. (J hook)

 

Step 2. Starting ch calculation:

  • Smaller 2 : 61 – 1 x 2 + 6 = 126 ch (I’m using this calculation).
  • Regular 3 : 61 – 1 x 3 + 8 = 180 ch.

 

Step 3. Crochet:

  • Row 1: (smaller size) dc in 6th ch from hook, *ch 1, sk 1, dc in next ch. *Repeat across = 61 om Ch 4, turn
  • Row 1: (regular size) dc in 8th ch from hook, *ch 2, sk 2, dc in next ch. *Repeat across = 61 om Ch 5, turn
  • Row 2:  3-om, 1-cm, 11-om, 1-cm, 9-om, 1-cm, 9-om, 1-cm, 9-om, 1-cm, 11-om, 1-cm, 3-om;Ch and turn
  • Row 3-61: Follow chart left to right then right to left, alternating with each row.

 

Step 4. Edging (examples, your preference):

  • Coaster:  sc around perimeter, adding picots every 3 or 4 mesh  or shell border
  • Square Doily:  strawberry border
  • Insertion: sc around perimeter, with care to keep corners squared
  • Blanket: scallop border
  • The edging I did is:  
  • First, sc around perimeter, followed by:   *ch 3, sc, ch 3, 3-dc-tog *repeat around with the exception that corners share a sp ( all in one st: 3dc-tog, ch3, 3dc-tog). The second round repeats the pattern in an alternating format. 3-dc-tog on sc and sc on previous 3-dc-tog. That completes the 1st trim; end here or keep going.
  • For the second trim, I created 6 flowers:  ch 6, join to form ring, Rnd 1: ch 4, *dc-ch1 *repeat 11 times (=12 dc), join to 3rd ch (=12 sps),  Rnd 2: ch 3, 3-dc-tog, ch 3, *4-dc-tog, ch *repeat around, join with sl st in 1st ch 3 sp. Rnd 3: ch 8, *dc in next sp, ch 5 *repeat around, join. Rnd 4: 8 sc in each ch5 sp,  finish off, weave in tails.  The flowers were sewn together (2 low, middle high) and then sewn to the top and bottom of the filet piece. It occurred to me afterward that Chinami Horiba’s crown chart pattern would probably go better. C’est la vie.
  • In the area under the flowers *8 sc, picot, *across
  • In the area around the sides I created a roman numeral or clock face border, any open work raised dc pattern will work.
  • Above the roman numerals, I repeated the *ch 3, sc, ch 3, 3-dc-tog * across for 2 rows. End with sc around.
du Lion

du Lion en filet

If you decide to make this, I’d love to hear from you.

9 thoughts on “Filet Crochet Along – Scottish Lion Rampant

  1. This looks very interesting. I will have to learn how to do this I think…I was given a bunch of ecru crochet cotton thread that would work for something like this…hmmm….must. finish. other. projects.first….hahahaha…. 😀

  2. I would love to join making this but I am confused about the maths stuff you have up there I’m dyslexic in maths (it called dyscalulia or something :)) and so any working outs like this just makes my head want to explode is it possible you could explain what you mean any other way? If not no worries I’ll try and figure it out by trial and error 😉 I think I only have size 10 (uk) crochet thread, and I’m guessing we are using fine hooks here yes?

    Will it still work right if I just follow the graph like the graph ghan but make sure I do the mesh open and closed squares? Sorry for all the questions and thank in advance for your reply 😀

    • Sorry for the confusion. The calculation is for the starting chain. Chain 180, double crochet in 8th chain from hook, ** chain 2, skip 2, double crochet in next chain. ** Repeat across to arrive at 61 open mesh.

      The second calculation is how long it will take to finish. There are 61 total rows, so if you do at least 10 rows per week, you’ll finish in 6 weeks.

      You can make this in yarn or thread using whatever size hook you prefer. The pattern will still be the same, it’s the size of the finished project that varies. Mine should work out to about 7 inches or 17.78 centimeters. The US size 30 thread that I’m using is equivalent to a UK size 50 or 60. I’m using a fine steel hook that is US size 13 and UK size 0.85mm.

      We do have a size 10 thread in the US that we call “bedspread weight” and this uses our #7 hook, which is your 1.6mm steel hook. Also, I think that what I call a double crochet, you call a single? By double I mean yarn over one (1) time.

      • Hi and WOW you are awesome thanks for replying for a start and secondly that makes a lot more sense so thank you for that 🙂

        I do everything in the US patterns the same it’s just the thread and the hooks that is what I normally have to double check on as there seems to be a lot more US crocheters than UK ones most of the patterns are in US terms so that’s what I always use haha.

        Also you do not need to apologize it’s not your fault my head can’t deal with calculations 😉 haha, and I really appreciate you going to all this trouble. Thanks again so much 🙂 I have one more w.i.p. to do then I should be able to get started on this..I can’t wait. It’s very good as it’ coincides with the commonwealth games that are held in Glasgow this year too 😀

Leave a Reply

