How to Wash Lace

How to Wash Lace

Laundering money lace is a task seldom taken lightly. The fear of ruin is well founded.  The first time I washed lace, I used an old stained doily that had no sentimental value; a perfect practice piece.  The only thing I did different from the instructions below is everything: I hand-washed it in the sink with warm water and Woolite, rolled it in a towel to dry, and ironed from the back side before pinning on styrofoam to dry.

Alas, the stain didn’t up and vanish, but it lightened a lot, in fact, the whole piece became so bright I realized, “Yuck! That was really dirty.”  After that, I not only felt comfortable washing lace, I thought it needed it. Still, I don’t recommend it for everything. For instance, my great-grandmother’s tatted doily; it’s frayed and I’m afraid it wouldn’t survive the adventure. Another one is amigurumi; her swan doily where the swans sit upright around the center. I think these were stiffened with a heavy starch and washing them could wash that out and fell the swans. So I keep that one in the china cupboard; safe from dust.

A little about the company: LUX was an English soap company founded in 1899 by the Lever Brothers. The company reached its height in the 1920’s when it was mass marketed by female celebrities. Today, the company is called Unilever and it’s headquartered in Singapore. [1]

This is the 1910 LUX instructions for Washing Lace:

Source: [1] Wikipedia.  Photos: Newspaper Clippings

Leave a Reply

